Native Wheat Starch
What is it?
Native wheat starch is a plant-based ingredient used in food, which is obtained from wheat.
It is a white to off-white powder with a neutral odour and taste. It has an energy value of 4kcal/g (similar to all other carbohydrates).
Native wheat starch is a carbohydrate derived from wheat. It is physically extracted from wheat, separating gluten and other proteins.
Where and Why is it used?
Native wheat starch is used in many types of food, e.g. to thicken custards, desserts, sauces and instant foods. It can also be used for binding, and moisture retention, as an emulsifier, stabilizer and a clouding and glazing agent.
It is used in sugar confectionery, bakery and snacks, dairy products (such as cheese), alcoholic drinks, sauces and soups, pastas, prepared foods, and meat and seafood (such as surimi).
Wheat starch can potentially be allergenic for some people due to the presence of gluten. Although processing often removes the gluten protein, some residual gluten can remain. Nevertheless, some wheat products can be used in “gluten free” and “very-low gluten” food, when the remaining gluten is below the levels determined by EU legislation. However, there is no exemption on botanical origin labelling for wheat starch and “wheat” origin needs to be labelled as allergen in the ingredients list.
Wheat starch is listed as “(wheat) starch” on the ingredients list.
Ingredients List: Wheat Starch
Nutritional Table: Carbohydrates